Seven Spirits of the Lord

What are the Seven Spirits of the Lord and what do they mean?  I would wonder, ponder, think on it, and yet wonder again a bit perturbed because I didn’t understand.

Briefly, I did a basic search and voila! I found my answer, my understanding, and now my knowledge of the Seven Spirits of the Lord.  Now I came up with another question.  What is spirit?

Listed below is the dictionary’s explanation for spirit:

1.  the principle of conscious life; the vital principle in humans, animating the body or mediating between body and soul.
2. the incorporeal part of humans: present in spirit though absent in body.
3. the soul regarded as separating from the body at death.
4. conscious, incorporeal being, as opposed to matter: the world of spirit.
5. a supernatural, incorporeal being, especially one inhabiting a place, object, etc., or having a particular character: evil spirits.
Isaiah 11:2 has listed the seven spirits of the Lord:

2 The Spirit of the LORD shall rest upon Him,
The Spirit of wisdom and understanding,
The Spirit of counsel and might,
The Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD.

  • The Spirit of the Lord shall rest upon Him.

The conscience of spiritual life supernaturally dwells on Him (Jesus Christ)

  • The Spirit of wisdom

The conscience of spiritual life indwelling in wisdom (a sense of enlightenment, the knowledge of what is true or right coupled with just judgment).

  • and understanding,

The conscience of spiritual life indwelling in understanding (comprehending) concepts, ideas, surroundings, people, places, etc.

  • The Spirit of counsel,
The conscience of spiritual life indwelling in counsel:
     1. advice; opinion or instruction given in directing the judgment or conduct of another.
     2. interchange of opinions as to future procedure; consultation; deliberation.
  • and might,

The conscience of spiritual life indwelling in might (superior power or strength, force; power or ability to do or accomplish; capacity)

  • The Spirit of Knowledge,
The conscience of spiritual life indwelling in knowledge (acquaintance with facts, truths, or principles, as from study or investigation; acquaintance or familiarity gained by sight, experience, or report;  the perception of fact or truth; clear and certain mental apprehension).
The conscience of spiritual life indwelling in the fear of the Lord (reverential awe, especially toward God: the fear of God; awe, respect, reverence, veneration)
The Lord is Jesus Christ.  I’d like to incorporate the gifts and the fruits of the Holy Spirit that speaks directly to this subject of the Spirit of the Lord:
As we pray for the Seven Spirits of the Lord to affect our lives, so, too, we must also pray for the gifts of the Holy Spirit and the fruits of the Holy Spirit to affect our lives.

Do you have a relationship with Jesus Christ?  No?  Then pray this prayer of salvation:

Prayer of Salvation

We don’t deserve it;He Is Willing to Give It to You

Heavenly Father:  I come to your throne of  Grace, Splendor, and Majesty  in the name of Jesus Christ.  Your Word says that “whosoever shall call on the name of  the Lord, shall be saved” and “if thou shall confess with thy mouth, the name of  the Lord Jesus, and shall believe in thy heart, that He died and that God has raised Him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.”

You said that my salvation would be the result of  the Holy Spirit giving me new birth by coming to live in me and that if I would ask, you would fill me with your Spirit and give me the ability to speak in other tongues.

I take you at your word:  I confess that Jesus Christ is your son and is Lord.  I believe that He died and you raised him from the dead.  Father God, please forgive me of my sins, transgressions and iniquities–my faults and weaknesses.  I’m sorry.

Thank you for coming into my heart, for giving me your Holy Spirit, as you promised, and for being Lord over my life. Amen.

Thank you for coming into my heart, for giving me your Holy Spirit, as you promised, and for being Lord over my life. Amen.

If you prayed the Prayer of Salvation, then indeed, you are born again.

____________________________________

SeashoreMary

Abide In Me

CorpusChristiWebsiteDesigns

YouTube – ‪SeashoreMary

Christianchirp

Twitter

2 thoughts on “Seven Spirits of the Lord

Leave a Reply

