Wages of Sin

Recently I read a review on the movie titled “The Help” 2011 addressing domestic worker abuse.

When I saw the trailer I got the general impression that this movie was laced with comedy–until I saw the review.

A general search on the keyword phrase domestic servant abuse garnered an understanding that abusing the worker is and can be almost considered normal and not always in third world countries or merely by the wealthy?  Why?

I had already watched, repulsed by a report, by a CNN reporter in Libya, who discovered an Ethiopian female nanny who had been horribly scarred as a result of being scalded by boiling hot water over 50% of her body, by Gaddafi’s daughter in law,  and abandoned to fend for herself,  while the family fled out of the country  into safety.

I fully understand that the world is full of individuals who abuse their privileges.  I am unable to “accept it as the norm”.

Researching the scriptures  I came across “abuse,” “wages”, “recompense,” and all were really more than adequate for my article; however, I chose “wages” for my topic.

Abuse is the wrongful misuse of one’s authority, including inflicting or causing physical, emotional, mental injury to another either human or animal.

We have been given hope by the Lord that abuse will be judged  of an abusive action:

Deuteronomy 32:35

35 Vengeance is Mine, and recompense;  Their foot shall slip in due time; For the day of their calamity is at hand,  And the things to come hasten upon the

Proverbs 10:16

The labor of the righteous leads to life, The wages of the wicked to sin.

Proverbs 26:10


The great God who formed everything Gives the fool his hire and the transgressor his wages.

Jeremiah 22:13

“ Woe to him who builds his house by unrighteousness And his chambers by injustice, Who uses his neighbor’s service without wages And gives him nothing for his work…

Hosea 2:12

“ And I will destroy her vines and her fig trees, Of which she has said, ‘ These are my wages that my lovers have given me.’

Haggai 1:6

“ You have sown much, and bring in little; You eat, but do not have enough; You drink, but you are not filled with drink; You clothe yourselves, but no one is warm; And he who earns wages, Earns wages to put into a bag with holes.”

Luke 3:14

Likewise the soldiers asked him, saying, “And what shall we do?” So he said to them, “Do not intimidate anyone or accuse falsely, and be content with your wages.”

Acts 1:18

18 Now this man purchased a field with the wages of iniquity; and falling headlong, he burst open in the middle and all his entrails gushed out.

Romans 6:23

For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

2 Peter 2:15

They have forsaken the right way and gone astray, following the way of Balaam the son of Beor, who loved the wages of unrighteousness;

I, therefore, have a better understanding that if we abuse, we shall reap and be judged by Almighty God, in due time.

Do you have a relationship with Jesus Christ?  No?  Then pray this prayer of salvation:

Prayer of  Salvation

 We don’t deserve it;  He Is Willing to Give It to You

Heavenly Father:  I come to your throne of  Grace, Splendor, and Majesty  in the name of Jesus Christ.  Your Word says that “whosoever shall call on the name of  the Lord, shall be saved” and “if thou shall confess with thy mouth, the name of  the Lord Jesus, and shall believe in thy heart, that He died and that God has raised Him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.”

You said that my salvation would be the result of  the Holy Spirit giving me new birth by coming to live in me and that if I would ask, you would fill me with your Spirit and give me the ability to speak in other tongues.

I take you at your word:  I confess that Jesus Christ is your son and is Lord.  I believe that He died and you raised him from the dead.  Father God, please forgive me of my sins, transgressions and iniquities–my faults and weaknesses.  I’m sorry.

Thank you for coming into my heart, for giving me your Holy Spirit, as you promised, and for being Lord over my life. Amen.

Thank you for coming into my heart, for giving me your Holy Spirit, as you promised, and for being Lord over my life. Amen.

If you prayed the Prayer of Salvation, then indeed, you are born again.

____________________________________

SeashoreMary

Abide In Me

CorpusChristiWebsiteDesigns

YouTube – ‪SeashoreMary

Christianchirp

Twitter

2 thoughts on “Wages of Sin

Leave a Reply

