He Brought Quail

Yesterday I was invited to taste quail.  Never had I experienced, had the interest, or had the opportunity to eat quail.  Yes, I’m from south Texas and hunting quail is not uncommon.  In fact, one of my nephews goes hunting for quail and I hear he does quite well.

I’ve never tasted it until yesterday.  Yes, I was  a bit hesitant unsure of something so foreign.

One look at it made me laugh.  This animal is so small, about 4″ by 5″.  I estimated perhaps it had four ounces of  a rather dark meat.  It was cooked in a simple way: oil, salt and pepper for flavor and baked in the oven face down with legs outwardly sprawled.

But being rather busy, I declined to eat it and asked to bring it home to eat later.  I bagged it into a sandwich sized baggie and refrigerated it.

Today, I took it out of the baggie and zapped it in the microwave, and now I’m rather curious about it.  One taste had me hooked (I think it’s because I’m extremely hungry).  I like it.  There isn’t anything particularly outstanding about it.  It doesn’t taste like chicken, beef, pork, doves, rabbit, armadillo, or even frog legs (yes, I’ve tasted frog legs and they taste like fried chicken).  I guess it would have been tastier if it had some savory sauce,  or maybe even fried or lemon drizzled over it.  It’s a good experience.

I laughed again at the smallness, thanked the Lord for my “new” meal and then, in a flash, I remembered a biblical scene where the Israelites had complained that they wanted something else to eat, other than manna, and the Lord literally provided “birds” from the sky.

Curious about what I was thinking that I asked myself if quail was that type of bird.  Hey!  I searched the bible and sure enough, quail was what the Lord had provided to the Israelites.

  • The people asked, and He brought quail, And satisfied them with the bread of heaven. (Psalm 105.40)
  • So it was that quails came up at evening and covered the camp, and in the morning the dew lay all around the camp. (Exodus 16:13)
  • Now a wind went out from the LORD, and it brought quail from the sea and left them fluttering near the camp, about a day’s journey on this side and about a day’s journey on the other side, all around the camp, and about two cubits above the surface of the ground. (Numbers 11:31)
  • And the people stayed up all that day, all night, and all the next day, and gathered the quail (he who gathered least gathered ten homers); and they spread them out for themselves all around the camp. (Numbers 11:32)

Ok, I had one more question in my spirit:

  • Q.  Is a quail and a partridge the same animal?
  • A.  Most birds called partridges belong to one family, this family also includes the North American quail!

I was remembering a rendition of the Twelve Days of Christmas…”and a partridge in a pear tree.”

What is the percentage of chances that I am experiencing quail for the very first time, and this is the season of the twelve days of Christmas?

That’s what I love about my Christ Jesus.  He likes to give me new meaning as I am as receptive to receive it.  He doesn’t just drop the information into me, I get to experience it–step by step.  It gives me a deeper appreciation and I rather think He gets joy at me “discovering.”

I ran into the following excerpt that I think you might enjoy:

  • The partridge in a pear tree was Jesus Christ (because the partridge is noted for its voracity to protect its own)
  • Two turtle doves were the Old and New Testaments.
  • Three French hens stood for faith, hope and love.
  • The four calling birds were the four gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke and John).
  • The five golden rings recalled the Torah’s first five books of the Old Testament.
  • The six geese a-laying stood for the six days of creation.
  • Seven swans a-swimming represented the sevenfold gifts of the Holy Spirit–Prophesy, Serving, Teaching, Exhortation, Contribution, Leadership, and Mercy.
  • Eight maids a milking (the 8 Beatitudes).
  • Nine Ladies Dancing (the 9 fruits of the Holy Spirit).
  • Ten Lords a Leaping (the 10 Commandments)
  • Eleven Pipers piping (the 11 disciples/Apostles, excluding Judas who was the 12th, but was not faithful).
  • Twelve Drums a drumming (the 12 points of the Apostles Creed)

The Lord provided my meal today and I not only received a physical meal but I also received my spiritual food, as well, in the form of my Lord Jesus Christ.

2 thoughts on “He Brought Quail

Leave a Reply

