Rise In The Name of Jesus!

Then he said to him, “Rise and go; your faith has made you well.” (Luke 17:19)

The title Rise In The Name of Jesus!, may be a bit “out there”; however, following are a few more scriptures that refer to rising from the dead involving Jesus Christ, who, Himself, rose from the dead as a backdrop to my experience last week:

  • They laughed at him, knowing that she was dead. 54 But he took her by the hand and said, “My child, get up!” 55 Her spirit returned, and at once she stood up. Then Jesus told them to give her something to eat. (Luke 8:53-55)
  • Jesus said to her, “Your brother will rise again.” (John 11:23)
  • “…that the Messiah would suffer and, as the first to rise from the dead, would bring the message of light to his own people and to the Gentiles.” (Acts 26:23)
  • In him the whole building is joined together and rises to become a holy temple in the Lord. (Ephesians 2:21)
  • This is why it is said: “Wake up, sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” (Ephesians 5:14)

It’s a long stretch by any means that anyone else could rise from the dead, other than Jesus Christ, whom Father God raised from the dead as the angels foretold when His body was not in the tomb:

  • He is not here; he has risen, just as he said. Come and see the place where he lay. (Matthew 28:6)

Before Jesus was crucified he laid hands on the sick and healed them:

  • He could not do any miracles there, except lay his hands on a few sick people and heal them. (Mark 6:5)
  • At sunset, the people brought to Jesus all who had various kinds of sickness, and laying his hands on each one, he healed them. (Luke 4:40)

But Jesus was crucified.  Before He ascended to Heaven, he left instructions:

  • 3 After his suffering, he presented himself to them and gave many convincing proofs that he was alive. He appeared to them over a period of forty days and spoke about the kingdom of God. 4 On one occasion, while he was eating with them, he gave them this command: “Do not leave Jerusalem, but wait for the gift my Father promised, which you have heard me speak about. 5 For John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit.” (Acts 1:3-5)

Timothy speaks about fanning into flames the gift of God, which is in you through the laying of hands (by and through the power of the Holy Spirit):

  • For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands. (2 Timothy 1;6)

There is one word of caution to the laying on of hands to heal the sick:

  • Do not be hasty in the laying on of hands, and do not share in the sins of others. Keep yourself pure.

We have been given a tremendous gift of the laying on of hands to heal the sick, by and through the power of the Holy Spirit because Jesus Christ conquered death and the power over all evil.

Last Wednesday, after doing some shopping, I returned home exhausted.  I checked on all of my five pets (One labrador dog named Bella Bella, One mixed poodle named Heidie, Three  6 month old kittens: Grey, Stripes, and White).  All of these pets were abandoned and each came into my possession at various times.  I believe it’s because God has gifted me to take care of the abandoned and the lost.

Grey, the most mature of the three kittens, appeared a bit wimpy to me.  Everyone experiences an off day, so I thought she was having an off day.  I went about my business, chores, etc. However, when it was time to bed down the pets, I noticed she was really “out of it.”  She could barely walk.  When I held her, she was really hot.  I have little experience in raising kittens.  I’ve made many trips to the vet where dogs are concerned so I wasn’t sure what I was facing.

I laid hands and prayed over Grey, and claimed God’s promise of healing as His word promises.  I cradled Grey against my body, and I anointed her with oil, and I cried to the Lord.  I felt her life slipping away rapidly.  In His mercy He heard my cry.  I didn’t want to let her go.

He answered me in my spirit and stated “she will not die today, not tomorrow.”  (I’m honest, I asked the Lord if He meant here on earth, because surely I know she lives in Heaven forever.)

I stopped crying from the pain in my heart because He touched me.

I sent my sister a text requesting prayer for Grey with a possible trip to the vet the following day.

Exhausted, I laid Grey next to me in my bed with my hand over her all night Wednesday.  Intermittently I woke up automatically praying over her.  She lay quietly all night, never moving.

Grey didn’t improve the following day (Thursday).  She drank little water and ate no food.  But I trusted in the word of the Lord.  In fact, as I look back on the experience, I decided to trust God over the vet.  I felt the way circumstances appeared, the vet would have “put her down” in mercy.

All day Thursday, I went about the motions of everyday life.  I slipped on some chores and work and I “bugged” the Lord incessantly in prayer.

  • During the days of Jesus’ life on earth, he offered up prayers and petitions with fervent cries and tears to the one who could save him from death, and he was heard because of his reverent submission. (Hebrews 5:7)

“God,” I thought to myself, “did I misunderstand Him?”  The deceiver loves to interfere when we are in the depth of despair so I had to battle the voice of doubt.

I made a choice to believe the Lord.  I anointed Grey so many times that the other pets would quietly come up to her and sniff at her.

I will say this for the other pets, not one hassled me to take them outside.  They were as quiet as a mouse, unsure of what was going on.  No one was sent outside Wednesday or Thursday as is customary.

Again, I placed Grey next to me Thursday night with my hand over her.  However, I slept a bit more this time.  I awoke Friday morning and noticed Grey was still alive but barely.

This time, resigned I just said “Ok, Lord, I don’t want her in pain, if you need to take her, take her.”

Suddenly, a vivid memory from the bible comes over me: the scene where the Lord is leaning over the dead little girl and He says “Rise!”

I leaned over Grey, hovered my left hand over her lifeless body and I simply said, with conviction, “Rise!” “Rise in the Name of Jesus!”

OMG!!! Grey flipped opened her small eyes, barely looking around and her body literally began to move upwards.  I didn’t stop hovering over her and I kept repeating myself, “Rise!” “Rise in the Name of Jesus!”   She sat down on the bed and literally started moving, limping along the bed!!

Friday was my birthday and this was His gift to me: my Grey!  She is well, getting stronger each day being fed country stew because of the broth. I noticed her siblings, Stripes and White, hovering over Grey all kissing each other as is their custom.

Yesterday, Saturday, all three kittens were laying next to each other with their paws encircling  around each other sleeping quietly (the storm had passed).

Today she was outside in the cool of the day enjoying God’s creation.  They play with the dry crisp leaves as their toys and they scamper around from one end of the yard to the other end out distancing each other.  God created them with  incredible agility and speed.

If  God can gift us with life in animals how much more do you think He would do for us as humans who He created in His image?

Thank You Lord for your wonderful blessings!

 No One Ever Cared For Me Like Jesus

(by Jimmy Swaggart)

Blessings,

___________________________________

SeashoreMary

Abide In Me

CorpusChristiWebsiteDesigns

YouTube – ‪SeashoreMary

Christianchirp

Twitter

6 thoughts on “Rise In The Name of Jesus!

  1. What a moving story of your “Grey”, Mary! You have a wonderful heart for animals and so do I. 🙂 My husband just shakes his head when I say “Oh, how cute!” over an animal and I have to assure him quickly, that I am not asking to take it home.
    Your faith in God and His word is tremendous concerning healing for humans, but I hadn’t thought it could extend to our beloved pets! I have also prayed over my pets, but never anointed them with oil or spoke verbally over them in faith.
    I believe you just taught me a different kind of lesson in faith. 😮
    Today I just posted my fun poem on dogs, and I have one written on cats that’ll be out sometime soon. Hope you’ll enjoy them.
    Blessings dear sister in Christ,
    Lily

    • Hi Lily! I sincerely believe that the deeper our faith in Christ we become, the more sensitive that we also become. We “pick up” His character values in life and the depth of what we believe is life. Since He is life, we have a tremendous value of it.

      I want to pick up all the animals I see loose but I know that I can’t so I just pray over them for their safety, to return them home if I see a dog collar, or for the Lord to find a caring compassionate person to pick them up and care for them. I never call the animal control people==my neighbor has that distinction. In fact, that’s how I got Bella Bella. She was found outside my home and the neighbor called the pound. He even tied her up for them; however, God knew better. The pound never showed up; the neighbor didn’t want to feed her so he let her loose. She bedded down under my Cyprus tree in front of my house; I found her and I took her in.

      God provides the pets and the provisions that allow me to take care of them.

      Looking forward to you cat story and I enjoyed your dog story as well.

      Bless you my friend,

      Mary

  2. Pingback: The Logic of Mannequins | Broken Believers

  3. Thanks for sharing the story of Grey, Mary, and a very happy belated Birthday. I am so happy that she is okay and all thanks to God for His kindness. I know that when God blesses His people, even their animals are blessed. His mercy knows no bounds and your story confirms this. I am a animal lover myself and stories like these truly inspire me.

    • Hi Ula! Thank you for your feedback. I suspected that you were an animal activist by viewing your blog.

      Isn’t God great? He is a God of detail knows our every need and provides for it!

      Blessings,

      Mary

  4. Pingback: Resources for Acts 1:3 - 5

Leave a Reply

