The Word: A Double Edged Sword

  • For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. (Hebrews 4:12)
  • And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God;  (Ephesians 6:12)

Speaking of the sword, let me first use an analogy of creating and molding, honing (sharpening), and polishing a sword.

“A sword is a bladed weapon (edged weapon) of more than 50 cm (20 in) in overall length used primarily for cutting or thrusting. All have a blade and a handle, known as the hilt. Blades may be straight, curved, single-edged, double-edged or just pointed. Hilts vary considerably in style and length, and may include protective guards for the hand. Detailed design depends on the historical epoch or the geographical region under consideration.” (source Wikipedia)

Swords are both either single (razor-sharp on one side) or double-edged (razor sharp on both sides).

Here’s a short video on the making of a steel edged sword and creating the hilt (handle) using modern techniques like a kiln hot enough to melt the steel into a hot liquid for molding the sword:

Fathers Sword

Did you notice the fiery, intensive heat which melted the steel into a hot molten liquid that it took to create the sword?

Some of our unspeakable circumstances can be considered a fiery event in our lives and we “need” God’s Word to help us fight and win the battle. Why?

  • For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. (Ephesians 6:12)
  • Having disarmed principalities and powers, He made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them in it. (Colossians 2:15)

We need the Word, which is a Double Edged Sword, both to fight the battle and to bring correction and discipline into our own lives.

Words have a power all their own

Words have a power all their own (Photo credit: waɪ.tiː)

The bible provides the Word (activated by and through the Holy Spirit–the Word of God), the knowledge, the battle plan and the reason for the battle.

Without the knowledge and the power of the Word, we cannot stand and expect to win the victory.

Our spirits require the feeding of the Word and in order to access God’s (Jesus‘) supernatural power, it must be kept razor-sharp to be used at a moment’s notice as a wielding weapon.

I am reminded that when I became a newbie in Christ, one of my friend’s grandchildren, a relatively newborn baby, had taken seriously ill.  She had the “instruction” (the Holy Spirit unction) to call me because she knew I believed in Christ and in His supernatural power.

When she called me she stated: “Mary, my grandchild is desperately ill. He’s stopped eating. We’ve taken him to the doctor for treatment but it doesn’t look good.  They’ve released the baby from the hospital to come home to spend his last days with family.” I got the impression the child was lifeless.

Shocked, I immediately answered her,  “Esther, let’s go to God and pray.  There’s nothing that He can’t or won’t do.  Let’s believe He will heal the baby.”

“Is the baby with you now?” I asked her.

“Yes.” she answered softly.

“OK, hold the baby in your arms and come into agreement with me,” I responded.

Pulling my bible, I opened it to two of what have become my favorite prayers, Psalm’s 91 and 103.  I verbally read these prayers back to back several times over the phone, as in the Book of Joshua who fought the battle of Jericho–seven times.

At one point, I uttered “Hey, hold the child!” (How on earth, did I “know” there was a problem holding the child?  I’m at home on the phone with Esther.)

Laughing Esther responded, “I’m trying Mary!  He’s squirming trying to get out of my arms!”

Encouraged, I kept on praying and praising the Lord for His healing virtue ending with “I call it done, in the Name of Jesus!”

Esther never stopped believing either.  She gave thanks and praises to the Lord, and told me “thank you, Mary!”

I distinctly remember hearing the mom in the background “Look, he’s moving!”

I mentioned to Esther that if it was necessary, we would pray again the following day if she felt the need and to call me.

I did hear again from Esther but to tell me that the child was well and eating!

A few years passed and one day, I was visiting my mom; Esther dropped by to visit.  She had the now grown youth with her and introduced me formally pointing out “this is Mary, who prayed for you when you were so sick.”  Apparently this is now a family miracle story.

All Honor, Glory, and Power to the Lord Jesus Christ!

How powerful the Word, when activated, in faith to believe, in the midst of a battle; a battle of life and death.

  • May the praise of God be in their mouths and a double edged sword in their hands, (Psalm 149:6)

John’s vision of God, the son, Jesus Christ, in the Book of Revelation prophesying (decreeing and declaring the Word) over the seven churches:

  • 8 “I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.” (Revelation 1:8)
  • 10 On the Lord’s Day I was in the Spirit, and I heard behind me a loud voice like a trumpet, 11 which said: “Write on a scroll what you see and send it to the seven churches: to Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamum, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia and Laodicea.” (Revelation 1:10-11)
  • In his right hand He held seven stars, and coming out of his mouth was a sharp, double edged sword. His face was like the sun shining in all its brilliance. (Revelation 1:16)
  • “To the angel of the church in Pergamum write: These are the words of Him who has the sharp, double edged sword. (Revelation 2:12)

Jesus Just The Mention Of Your Name

by Jimmy Swaggart

Blessings,

___________________________________

SeashoreMary

Abide In Me

CorpusChristiWebsiteDesigns

YouTube – ‪SeashoreMary

Christianchirp

Twitter

3 thoughts on “The Word: A Double Edged Sword

  1. Hello Mary:
    Very well written again and I found the making of the sword video interesting as I love learning new things. The faith story you share within your article “The Word: A Double Edge Sword” about the baby in your family was a wonderful testimony to our God, faith and prayer! Thank you for sharing what God gives you. 🙂
    Bless you,
    Lily

Leave a Reply

