The Cross of Christ

And He, bearing His cross, went out to a place called the Place of a Skull, which is called in Hebrew,

Jesus, on the cross, is mocked in Calvary as t...

Jesus, on the cross, is mocked in Calvary as the King of the Jews, Luke 23:36-37 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Golgotha, (John 19:17) 18 where they crucified Him, and two others with Him, one on either side, and Jesus in the center. 19 Now Pilate wrote a title and put it on the cross. And the writing was:

JESUS OF NAZARETH, THE KING OF THE JEWS.

20 Then many of the Jews read this title, for the place where Jesus was crucified was near the city; and it was written in Hebrew, Greek, and Latin.

Recently I had encounters with two separate people–one local female who goes door to door, accompanied by students, teaching christian scriptures and one male “christian pastor,” located clear across the country, who, like me, makes blog entries unto a site we both visit.

Both of these people, the teacher and pastor, hold the same view–that the cross upon which Jesus Christ was crucified is considered idolatry.  The female teacher was overheard, by me, to emphatically state “I see so many homes that I visit, with people having crosses on their walls and it’s idolatry!”

I held my peace because I, too, was a visitor but not attending the teaching as I was in the next room, however, within hearing distance, reading a magazine. I bit my lower lip, clamped my jaw shut, and held my peace.

This kind of teaching is very hard to hear since it totally contradicts the cross and it’s purpose and to declare that it’s idolatry, well…

A few days later, I ran into the “christian pastor.” I merely mentioned that I had encountered the teaching that the cross is considered idolatry. Lo and behold, this “christian pastor,” agreed with the female teacher and supported the idea that yes, the cross is considered idolatry!  Holding my breath, I asked him how is the cross idolatry?

I wish I had saved his response because I would quote it now but he has since removed the entire conversation from the comments section where we were talking. I can paraphrase to say that “the cross takes the attention from God and anything like that ‘grieves’ Him.”

Yes, I was stunned.  I responded that I am guilty of believing in the cross, believing in Jesus Christ and the gift of the Holy Spirit. I wear crosses; they are symbolic to my faith.  I use them to inspire people to ask questions about my christian faith. My crosses do not have Christ hanging from it since He is no longer there but is alive and well.

I may state that no where does the bible state that the cross is considered idolatry, per se.

The Cross is:

the fulfillment of prophecy:

  • 28 After this, Jesus, knowing that all things were now accomplished, that the Scripture might be fulfilled, said, “I thirst!” (John 19:28)
  • 30 So when Jesus had received the sour wine, He said, “It is finished!” And bowing His head, He gave up His spirit.
  • 31 Therefore, because it was the Preparation Day, that the bodies should not remain on the cross on the Sabbath (for that Sabbath was a high day), the Jews asked Pilate that their legs might be broken, and that they might be taken away. 32 Then the soldiers came and broke the legs of the first and of the other who was crucified with Him. 33 But when they came to Jesus and saw that He was already dead, they did not break His legs. 34 But one of the soldiers pierced His side with a spear, and immediately blood and water came out. 35 And he who has seen has testified, and his testimony is true; and he knows that he is telling the truth, so that you may believe. 36 For these things were done that the Scripture should be fulfilled, “Not one of His bones shall be broken.” 37 And again another Scripture says, “They shall look on Him whom they pierced.”  (John 19:30-36)

effective:

  • For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel, not with wisdom of words, lest the cross of Christ should be made of no effect. 1 Cor 1:17

offensive:

  • And I, brethren, if I still preach circumcision, why do I still suffer persecution? Then the offense of the cross has ceased. Gal 5:11

glory only in the cross/boastful:

  • But God forbid that I should boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world. Gal 6:14

reconciliation to God:

  • and that He might reconcile them both to God in one body through the cross, thereby putting to death the enmity.  Eph 2:16

His death:

  • And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to the point of death, even the death of the cross. Philippians 2:8

enemies of the cross:

  • For many walk, of whom I have told you often, and now tell you even weeping, that they are the enemies of the cross of Christ: Philippians 3:18

peace through the blood of His cross:

  • and by Him to reconcile all things to Himself, by Him, whether things on earth or things in heaven, having made peace through the blood of His cross. Colossians 1:20

handwriting of requirements:

  • having wiped out the handwriting of requirements that was against us, which was contrary to us. And He has taken it out-of-the-way, having nailed it to the cross. Colossians 2:14

enduring the Cross:

  • looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Heb 12:2

I note that the word “cross” means to cut across, cut through, cross over from one area to another area; in this case, Jesus crossed over from death unto eternal life.

Oftentimes, when I think of Jesus Christ I think of the Cross; when I think of the Cross, I think of Jesus Christ–they are synonymous with each other; tied intrinsically into history and the future.

Abide In Me Cross

Abide In Me Cross

  • The LORD your God Himself crosses over before you; He will destroy these nations from before you, and you shall dispossess them (Deut 31:3)

I urgently caution everyone to beware of biblical teachings, know the scriptures read them daily, seek the Lord for their true meanings, do research by checking your sources; read the dictionary for meanings, check the Jewish Encyclopedia and Strong’s Concordance.

____________________________________

SeashoreMary

Abide In Me

CorpusChristiWebsiteDesigns

YouTube – ‪SeashoreMary

Christianchirp

Twitter

10 thoughts on “The Cross of Christ

  1. Yes, a strange way to perceive the cross. I remember a pastor from a church I attended preaching that he believed Christ’s resurrection was 90% true. Yikes! Like you have written, it is good to perk up our ears at such “small” talk. Shalom

    • Hi Jeanne! I wonder how the pastor arrived at “90% true?” Either it’s all true (the bible) or none of it. I’ve walked with the Lord too long to know better–100%, nothing less.

      Thank you for visiting.

      Blessings,

      Mary

  2. As always, you have done an excellent job of explaining the importance of the cross. I have always been taught in my fundamental faith that the cross is a symbol of faith in the risen Lord (that is, an empty cross). He is alive and is no longer on the cross. I will continue to wear my cross necklace, earrings, etc. as it lets the world know I am a believer. Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Alberta! The Cross is too significant to lay aside and declare that it’s idolatry. Lies.

      Thanks for visiting and for your encouragement.

      Blessings,

      Mary

  3. Pingback: U.S., German Researchers Reveal Date of Christ’s Death | Is the End soon?

  4. Pingback: 120528–George Hach’s Inner Discipline’s Journal–Monday | George Hach's Blog

  5. A significant reminder to Christians that our salvation, while free to us, was paid for through a horrific and and brutal death that Jesus willing endured. While we do not worship that cross, we need to always remember it and its significance. Thanks Mary for the wonderful article.

    • Hi Dennis!

      Thank you for visiting and leaving your comment. I appreciate all your ideas and your opinion re: the Cross is sincerely appreciated. No, we do not worship the cross, we worship Jesus Christ, our Savior, and what He did to save us.

      Blessings always,

      Mary

  6. Mary, your article spiritually and biblically hits the center of the bullseye! Thank you for the research, time and I’m sure prayers you put into this. I’m just so sorry people could believe it was idolatry when considering the cross of Jesus. I have never worshiped the cross, but respected what Jesus accomplished there! Well done Mary, thou good and faithful servant. 🙂
    Yours in Christ,
    Lily

    • Lily, thanks much for your comments. I surely didn’t know people thought that the cross was considered idolatry but to see it twice within days was really an eye opener.

      However, praise God that He can reveal the truth simply by reading His Word–the Bible.

      Always with blessings,

      Mary

Leave a Reply

