Peace That Surpasses All Understanding

Dove of Peace

Dove of Peace

I visited with out-of-town family members recently and we started to reminisce, particularly about a young, vibrant person who at about 23 years of age,  became a victim of  a drunk driving, severe auto accident in the prime of her life, leaving one person dead, one person fully untouched physically,  and “L”  now completely physically and brain-damaged for about the past 20+ years.

Littlefield Fountain and Main Building of The ...

Littlefield Fountain and Main Building of The University of Texas at Austin. The area leading up to the Tower from the Fountain is known as the South Mall. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Out of family privacy, she will not be named for this article but I will refer to her as “L.”

After years of pain and struggles for medical and physical treatment, “L” now lives in a special facility for brain-damaged adults.

Her mom was particularly amazed as she spoke about her daughter, saying “I don’t understand it, and I know the bible speaks about “peace that surpasses all understanding,” but when  “L” speaks, she speaks with total peace.  “L,” when she speaks swears she’s God‘s angel on earth.  How?  Where and how does this peace cover her?  Given her circumstances, I don’t understand it!”

I sat listening to her speak and I merely nodded in silence.  Then I spoke:

“You know, a few days ago I was weighed down with issues which I call crap.  As I bathed I spoke with the Lord praying for relief.  Then suddenly, He pulled a memory from long ago:

“L” was about 8-9 years old and we had visited a small zoo not far from where we lived, housing peacocks, rabbits, … the usual animals, and lions.  I was standing directly next to a particular lion cage, and the next thing I hear is the loudest “ROAR” from the lion simultaneously hitting the cage.  I instinctively remembered jumping and screaming my heart out in terror!’

“L” with her arms flailing in space and with all speed her little legs could carry her came running up to me as well as the rest of the family concerned over my screaming.  “L”  was  yelling ‘What’s wrong Tia?’ and quickly assessing the situation and my stuttering, she matter of factly stated: ‘Tia, you scared the lion!  The lion is blind!’

Blinking rapidly, feeling quite helpless and speechless, I turned and looked at the lion–sure enough the lion was quite agitated and yes, the lion was blind!

Realizing my mistake, and the lion is not charging at me, all I could feebly mutter was ‘I guess I thought I was in Africa!’  Everyone completely broke out laughing at me.’

I laughed at the Lord for bringing this memory to me because I certainly felt foolish but most of all, the memory,  coated with love and affection, broke the weight of heaviness from me.”

As I relived this memory to “L’s” mom, everyone around the table laughed.  It brought the needed relief from the awkwardness of the pain of loss revisiting.

Only God can give us the peace that surpasses all understanding, including pulling long ago memories from days where innocence ruled and reigned.

I believe “L” is now experiencing God’s “peace that surpasses all understanding” because she is under His covering, His protection, His love, His provision for her welfare.  When she speaks about God, she speaks with conviction and encourages everyone to listen to God.

Given her now limited  abilities “L” is way ahead spiritually over  anyone who has failed to take time out to listen to God, to turn and go His way.

We go through storms of destruction but as long as we focus on God,  He will guide us out into better times.

In Times Like These

Arlo Guthrie

  • 28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” — God  (Matthew 11:28-30)
____________________________________

SeashoreMary

Abide In Me, Corpus Christi Website Designs, YouTube – ‪SeashoreMary, Christianchirp, Twitter

2 thoughts on “Peace That Surpasses All Understanding

  1. I feel this really is one of the most significant information for me. And i’m glad reading your post. But want to remark on some general points, The internet internet site style is perfect, the articles is actually wonderful : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

