Jesus, You’re My Substitute, Rescue My Soul

Jesus Christ Cross

Jesus Christ Cross

Jesus,

You’re My Substitute,

Rescue My Soul

by SeashoreMary

***

Kneeling in the country church

the Cross high up the holy altar

I began stammering,

choking back the stinging tears, crying,

“Jesus, I’m broken, broken!”

Praying, praying up at the Cross,

a sputtering, staring, jabbering:

“I love you! I love you!”

“I’m broken, broken!” stumbling on despairing, choking tears.

“Jesus, I walked away.

I’ve been there, going here, kinda sorta useless,

a lull in sleeping,

awaking walking here,

walking there.”

Pleading, “Oh Jesus, You’re my substitute, rescue my soul!”

“Oh Jesus, You’re my substitute, rescue my soul!”

“I’m a lulling,

Kinda sorta broken.

Kinda sorta broken,

Kinda leaving this sad, dark, and lonely world,

Storing crushed, unfulfilled dreams,

Black memories from my past.”

“I’m broken, broken, shattering into pieces.”

Sobbing, “Jesus, You’re my substitute, rescue my soul!”

Then from the depths of my soul,

Jesus Christ reached deep into my uttermost being,

From eternity, He spoke:

 “I am the light of the world.

He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness,

but have the light of life.”

With a flick of His hand, snap!

Instantaneously the dingy, pitch-black,

Darkness of this world surrendered.

Jesus Christ rescued my soul!

Blessings,

______________________________

Ms. Mary Pacheco,

aka: SeashoreMary

Christian Author, Website Designer,  Website Consultant

Corpus Christi Website Designs   Youtube Channel   Abide In Me   Twitter

5 thoughts on “Jesus, You’re My Substitute, Rescue My Soul

      • @ Bummyla & Alan:

        Thank you for your comments. I think you misread my intent–it’s true that Jesus Christ is superior and certainly “no substitute” for anything less; however, please be reminded that Jesus Christ took all sin upon Himself in order for us to be saved. Therefore, Jesus Christ is My Substitute for my sins!

        Blessings,

        Mary

  1. Deeply moving and very personal my friend. A cry from the bowels of your soul and it touches me profoundly, because I’ve uttered words to our Lord in brokeness also. Thank you for sharing so others will know Jesus will rescue them too!

    • Hi Lily! Jesus is faithful to rescue us but we need to acknowledge that we need His help. It’s profound but I found it necessary to point out how low and frustrated we can become from brokenness.

      Thank God He made the Lord Jesus Christ because we certainly need Him!

      Blessings,

      Mary

Leave a Reply

