Fasting: Reclaim Your Spiritual Edge

Fasting Edge Journal 21 Day by Jentezen Franklin Jentezen

Fasting: Reclaim Your Spiritual Edge

***

For the past few years, specifically each January, I have participated in a 21 day corporate (world-wide) fasting movement led by Pastor Jentezen Franklin.  This year’s fasting begins Sunday, January 4, through Sunday, January 25, 2015.

The first year I tried it, I had trepidations because I’d never really committed to a true fast; I’d never had proper training or biblical education on fasting.

I didn’t think I could drink only water for 21 days (wrong stinking thinking).  Simply, I lacked the faith, knowledge and the discipline.

God knows our every weakness and I believe He knew I needed to fast. He knew I lacked formal biblical teachings or proper discipline so when I first understood Pastor Franklin’s “mandate” by God to teach on fasting, I listened and I learned.

Since childhood I would always be found drinking sodas.  In high school it was easy, in college it was even simpler to get a soda.  Once I got my driver’s license, let it be known I never lacked for a soda by the liter.

I never drank water or if I did it was rare.  My mom was always admonishing me for drinking so much soda. What I was doing was creating an addiction.  No matter what I did, I couldn’t break the addiction.  I never took to smoking or drinking alcohol but really, it’s the same concept because it can’t be easily broken.  I did try going cold turkey, that’s how desperate I had become but I couldn’t do it!

When I officially committed to “try” a fast, it was on a Friday because the 21 day fast would start the following Sunday.  My prayer went like this:  “Ok Lord, I will try the fast.”  I swear–the moment I committed to the fast, something lifted off me!  I felt at ease, and the “thirst” or the “crave” for the soda was gone and the 21 day fasting hadn’t even started yet!

I felt something change instantly and I got excited.  From that day through today, I no longer do sodas.  If I drink a soda, it’s a decaffeinated orange soda, which I did do last year, perhaps two the entire year and not again–it’s discipline and downright fear to get strangled on it so I don’t even try or think about them.

I’m amazed my organs are ok today with all those sodas I drank for so many years.

But I digress.  I started thinking bigger each year that the fast is done and I now look forward to it.

Yes, I do lose weight because it’s a sacrifice on what needs to be given up.  In my case, I don’t do any breads (which includes no cakes, pies, or any item made from flour) or any meat, including no fish, whatsoever.  Primarily I do eat fruits, vegetables, and grains, and I do drink water and tea–I gave up tea too last year.

I got creative with smoothies made from a mixture of fruits and vegetables.  My sister was a self-appointed Food Police.  She caught me eating a taco made with potatoes and eggs and one corn tortilla.  She thought the corn tortilla was made of flour so I had her read the “ingredients” packaging–the tortillas were pure corn, no flour.

Now she understood creativity and God didn’t ask me to starve myself–only sacrifice and pay full attention to Him and what He wants to lay out for me this coming year and the future.

Yes, Jesus did do a full 40 day fast in the bible.  I haven’t reached that stage, yet!  It’s a process…

Isaiah 58:6-11 (NKJV):

In the Book of Isaiah Chapter 58:6-11 God states clearly what is and why fast:

Is this not the fast that I have chosen:
To loose the bonds of wickedness,
To undo the heavy burdens,
To let the oppressed go free,
And that you break every yoke?
Is it not to share your bread with the hungry,
And that you bring to your house the poor who are cast out;
When you see the naked, that you cover him,
And not hide yourself from your own flesh?
Then your light shall break forth like the morning,
Your healing shall spring forth speedily,
And your righteousness shall go before you;
The glory of the Lord shall be your rear guard.
Then you shall call, and the Lord will answer;
You shall cry, and He will say, ‘Here I am.

“If you take away the yoke from your midst,
The pointing of the finger, and speaking wickedness,
10 If you extend your soul to the hungry
And satisfy the afflicted soul,
Then your light shall dawn in the darkness,
And your darkness shall be as the noonday.
11 The Lord will guide you continually,
And satisfy your soul in drought,
And strengthen your bones;
You shall be like a watered garden,
And like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail.

Reclaim Your Spiritual Edge:

Fasting to Reclaim the Edge

– Jentezen Franklin

21 Day Fasting Journal:

Pastor Franklin has created a 21 Day Fasting Journal.  Briefly, the 21 Chapters gives a brief outlook, i.e. Chapter 1: Recover Your Passion, Chapter 4: Respond With Worship, Chapter 6: Defeat the Enemy, Chapter 7: Take Time To Wait On God, Chapter 10: Power Follows Passion, Chapter 16: No Expiration Date on Prayers, and much more.

Pastor Franklin has included Nine Reasons for Fasting, Learn from Great Men and Women of the Bible (Queen Esther’s fast to save her life and the lives of the Jewish nation), the Disciples Fast, Ezra’s Fast, Samuel’s Fast, Elijah’s Fast, etc.

Summary:

If God is speaking to you about fasting, learn from His Word, the Bible.  Pastor Franklin was the only Pastor who was teaching fasting and since then some others have begun teaching it.

There’s a special supernatural power that takes over when a fast is in progress.  But it takes a personal consecration and the anointing to activate it.

To get your personal book on fasting, click here or on the image below:

Fasting Edge Journal 21 Day by Jentezen Franklin Jentezen

There’s a story that comes to my mind:

There was this Prayer Warrior Lady in church who did do fastings as the Lord would direct her. She had attended a prayer service one night and overheard this other woman praying and crying at the altar for her son to accept the Lord Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior.  The lady was sure that her son was far from God and she greatly feared for his soul. This lady’s passionate prayer didn’t go unnoticed by God or others around her at the altar, including the Prayer Warrior Lady.

The following day, the Prayer Warrior Lady was at work.  During the morning, she was prompted by the Holy Spirit to fast one meal–the lunch hour.  Being obedient, she fasted her lunch hour.  After her lunch hour, she was returning to her office but stopped because there was an auto accident.

Looking down from the highway, she could see how serious the accident appeared and she went down to help, if she could.  She saw a young man dying.  Immediately, she was stopped by the attending Police Officer not to approach the accident but the Prayer Warrior Lady explained herself and the Officer allowed her to minister to the young man’s last moments.

The Prayer Warrior Lady picked up the young man’s hands, told him who she was and asked him if he would accept Jesus Christ as His Lord and Savior.  The young man understood his extreme situation and nodded his head and accepted Jesus as his Lord and Savior as the Prayer Warrior Lady prayed over him. Then he died.

The Prayer Warrior Lady attended services that night and heard the same crying woman from the previous night at the altar.  This time the crying woman was grieving the loss of her son who had died earlier that day in an auto accident.  The crying woman was unsure that her son had accepted the Lord Jesus Christ.

The Prayer Warrior Lady realized it was the same young man she had ministered to earlier that day and confirmed it.  She was able to console the crying woman who, indeed, her son had accepted the Lord Jesus Christ and revealed the last moments of her son’s death.

The crying woman’s prayer had been answered.  Her son was in Heaven and she would and could deal with it.

We don’t know how God will use our faith and the power of fasting shouldn’t be ignored.  It’s a weapon in our arsenal against the enemy.

Blessings,

 

SeashoreMary

 

 

Leave a Reply

