2015: Happy Father’s Day!

Happy Father’s Day!

***

If my dad were here in this world today, I would be saying, “Thanks Dad!”  My dad was a man of a few words.  He was the proverbial “when E.F. Hutton speaks everybody listens.”

Because he was a man of few words, a humble man, we listened whenever he spoke up.  All heads would turn in his direction and his word was final–we didn’t think to question “his ways.”

My dad was a kind, giving, shy but strong man.  He was endowed with an incredible amount of patience and he would never discipline harshly–rather he was a man that we learned from–a man of action, a role model.  He was “there” when needed.

I remember him sitting at the kitchen table teaching my older sister mathematics, with seeping confidence believing someday he would be doing the same for me when it came time for me to learn math at a higher level.

We weren’t financially “rich.”  He did provide all the basic necessaries–he never bought anything of extravagance for himself.  So on special occasions, like Father’s Day, I would, from my own saved lunch money, buy him mechanics and home tool(s) that I knew he could use for fixing things around the house–screw drivers, whatever.  He would always smile shyly and say “Thank you” and walk away to store his precious treasure.

I miss my dad.  I’ve learned since the Lord took him home to heaven years ago to pray to God whenever those moments hit me and just say “Lord, tell my dad, I miss him and I love him.”

Then the “missing pain moments” disappear.  This is when I know the Lord just delivered my message to my dad–then I say “Thank you Lord God for giving me my dad, for placing me into his life because you, Lord, knew in advance my dad would be just exactly who I needed to walk through this journey on earth.”

Now, I also say, “Lord, thank you and I love you–my now Dad.  Happy Father’s Day, Lord.”

Thank you for being my Dad

(Song for Dad)

Happy Father’s Day to all the men with children–you’re blessed beyond measure.

Stay safe. Be blessed.

 

SeashoreMary

 

5 thoughts on “2015: Happy Father’s Day!

  1. Matthew 5:43-45 (from Messiah)

    You’ve heard the saying,
    “Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.”

    But I say to you — Love your enemies
    – bless them that curse you
    – do good to them that hate you, and
    – pray for them which despitefully use and persecute you

    That you may be the children of your Father in heaven
    – for He makes His sun rise on the evil and the good, and
    – sends rain on the just and the unjust.

    By extension then…
    – we’ve heard “leaders” say it’s hypocritical
    – for Christians to make weapons
    – or to invest in arms makers

    Yet scripture explains the duty of police…
    – to protect & serve as ministers of God, and
    – to do our civic duty to support them
    – while doing good by loving others
    – (Romans 13)

    …Let those erring leaders first disband their own personal guards.

Leave a Reply

